LinkBack Thread Tools
No Gallery image is associated with this thread

Old Feb 13th, 12, 4:16 pm   #1
TJINSF
IKEA FAN

iKarma: 410
Gallery: 0
My IKEA: USA-San Francisco:East Palo Alto
Can you screw hooks into a Billy Bookcase?

Hi,

I'm new to this (the forum, as well as building or modifying any piece of furniture), but have a question and I was hoping someone out there had the answer and/or some advice for me. I'd like to build a coat cubby for my 3 small children -- like those cubbies they have in preschool. My plan was to use a short skinny Billy bookcase in white and sandwich it between 2 sets of Billy extenders to make each cubby. Question 1: can you screw coat hooks into the bookcase? I'd want to put hooks on each of the 3 sides inside of each of the skinny bookcases. Question 2: how do I attach the extender units to the skinny bookcase? Question 3: how do I attach all 3 cubbies together? Like I said, I'm new to all of this, so any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Share |

TJINSF is offline   Reply With Quote

Register to remove these ads today!

Old Feb 14th, 12, 1:44 pm  
Moderator; IKEA Chuck
GOLD Directory Member

iKarma: 233,385
Gallery: 6
My IKEA: USA-San Francisco:Emeryville
Doorstyle: The late, great Kvadrat Beech

LBG Adoptions
Appreciation of an IKEAFAN  Appreciation of an IKEAFAN  Appreciation of an IKEAFAN  IKEAFANS Benefactor ($100+ Donation)  Appreciation of an IKEAFAN  Appreciation of an IKEAFAN  Appreciation of an IKEAFAN  Appreciation of an IKEAFAN  Appreciation of an IKEAFAN  Appreciation of an IKEAFAN  Appreciation of an IKEAFAN  IKEAFANS Benefactor ($100+ Donation)  IKEAFANS Moderator 
Total Awards: 13

I've been blogged!
Re: Can you screw hooks into a Billy Bookcase?

Welcome to IKEAFANS, TJ.

I don't fully understand what configuration you're trying to create (maybe you could post a drawing), but there are still issues that need to be addressed.